

## Dave Mitchell wins 2023 NSW Marblehead State Championship

Dave Mitchell from the Northern Mariners club sailing his Grunge design won the NSW M Championship convincingly at Kogarah Bay Sailing Club on the weekend of 21<sup>st</sup> and 22<sup>nd</sup> of October 2023. This is an ARYA ranking regatta.

It was a quality 15 boat fleet which included three sailors who made the trip from Tasmania that lined up for the first race in a light breeze. This wasn't how it stayed: the forecast NE wind was on its way. By the lunch break there was 18 to 20 knots blowing and all skippers abandoned their swing rigs and were reaching for their smaller rigs. It was exciting racing with the boats surfing the waves from the top mark to the bottom gate. At the end of the day 16 races had been completed and Dave Mitchell on 17 points had a comfortable lead from Colin Court on 41 points and Kyle Stewart on 44 points. The conditions were tough on boats and those with inadequate preparation were missing races, some lots of races.

The forecast for Sunday was for a light westerly with possibly a light southerly later in the day. Fortunately, the southerly arrived early, and conditions were ideal with a moderate SE breeze blowing for the rest of the day. A further 14 races were run on Sunday to make 30 for the regatta. See the full results below.

Many thanks to Scott Condie and Owen Jarvis who shared the PROs duties and to all the KBRYC members who gave up their time to make the regatta a resounding success. Well done everyone, these events can't happen without your help and expertise.

Position	Skipper	Sail #	Club/City	Hull	MYA No.	Score	1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8	9	10	11	12	13	14	15	16	17	18	19	20	21	22	23	24	25	26	27	28	29	30
Sort 15	Sort	Sort	Sort 1	Sort 15	Sort 0	15	16	D	D	D	D	D	D	D	D	D	D	D	D	D	D	D	D	D	D	D	D	D	D	D	D	D	D	D	D	D
1	David Mitchell	78	NM/NSW	Grunge		54.0	3.0	9.0	1.0	1.0	1.0	7.0	11.0	1.0	2.0	1.0	1.0	1.0	1.0	1.0	1.0	2.0	7.0	3.0	6.0	2.0	1.0	6.0	5.0	4.0	1.0	1.0	1.0	3.0	1.0	3.0
2	Colin Court	80	SMMC/NSW	Grunge		81.0	1.0	5.0	2.0	2.0	2.0	3.0	1.0	2.0	16.0	2.0	7.0	16.0	16.0	6.0	7.0	1.0	4.0	6.0	2.0	1.0	16.0	5.0	4.0	1.0	4.0	3.0	6.0	1.0	2.0	1.0
3	Kyle Stewart	59	RBRYC/TAS	Indie		88.0	2.0	4.0	4.0	14.0	8.0	6.0	10.0	6.0	4.0	3.0	2.0	2.0	2.0	2.0	4.0	3.0	8.0	2.0	9.0	5.0	4.0	4.0	1.0	2.0	5.0	2.0	2.0	2.0	3.0	4.0
4	Lisa Blackwood	35	RBRYC/TAS	F6		99.0	4.0	3.0	12.0	4.0	16.0	5.0	7.0	4.0	1.0	4.0	4.0	6.0	5.0	7.0	6.0	5.0	2.0	5.0	1.0	3.0	2.0	3.0	3.0	5.0	3.0	4.0	4.0	16.0	4.0	2.0
5	Bruce Benoit	21	IRYC/NSW	Paradox		138.0	9.0	7.0	3.0	3.0	6.0	10.0	3.0	9.0	5.0	6.0	5.0	3.0	3.0	3.0	3.0	6.0	5.0	7.0	7.0	7.0	16.0	7.0	6.0	6.0	9.0	7.0	3.0	7.0	6.0	5.0
6	Daniel Weizman	146	SMMC/NSW	Prime Number	•	185.0	7.0	1.0	9.0	11.0	5.0	11.0	2.0	7.0	6.0	10.0	6.0	7.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	13.0	4.0	4.0	4.0	3.0	2.0	7.0	10.0	7.0	9.0	10.0	5.0	9.0	16.0
7	Patrick O'Donnell	46	NM/NSW	Prime Number		190.0	11.0	11.0	8.0	9.0	7.0	4.0	9.0	8.0	16.0	5.0	3.0	4.0	16.0	8.0	5.0	8.0	9.0	8.0	10.0	6.0	5.0	9.0	9.0	8.0	10.0	8.0	8.0	6.0	10.0	6.0
8	Phil Page	86	NM/NSW	Quark		210.0	10.0	2.0	10.0	5.0	16.0	16.0	4.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	6.0	1.0	3.0	8.0	6.0	1.0	2.0	3.0	2.0	5.0	5.0	4.0	5.0	16.0
9	Maurie Fletcher	18	NM/NSW	Boogie		216.0	13.0	8.0	13.0	8.0	4.0	8.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	9.0	16.0	5.0	6.0	4.0	8.0	7.0	3.0	9.0	5.0	9.0	16.0	16.0	10.0	7.0	8.0	10.0	7.0	9.0	7.0	7.0
10	Wayne Keavy	36	KBRYC/NSW	Dreadnought		263.0	6.0	10.0	6.0	7.0	3.0	2.0	16.0	16.0	8.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	4.0	5.0	2.0	4.0	1.0	11.0	8.0	10.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0
11	Russell Harding	32	NM/NSW	Indie		272.0	8.0	13.0	11.0	10.0	16.0	16.0	8.0	5.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	12.0	10.0	11.0	11.0	7.0	8.0	8.0	9.0	6.0	6.0	9.0	8.0	8.0	8.0
12	Rod Marshall	81	RBRYC/TAS	Mantra		304.0	5.0	6.0	5.0	6.0	9.0	1.0	6.0	16.0	16.0	8.0	8.0	8.0	7.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	11.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0
13	lan Sawers	02	APMYC/Vic	F6		337.0	12.0	12.0	7.0	13.0	10.0	9.0	5.0	3.0	3.0	7.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0
14	Tim Bennett	89	BRYC/NSW	Prime Number	1	397.0	14.0	14.0	14.0	12.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	7.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0
15	Andrew Sands	43	NM/NSW	NRW		410.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	10.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0	16.0



Colin Court 2<sup>nd</sup>, Dave Mitchell 1<sup>st</sup> and Kyle Stewart 3rd